When you RSVP for an event you have the control to decide if your RSVP is listed on the event detail page for other members to see.

If you choose not to Share with the group, the RSVP is including in the attending count but your name will not be listed.

It’s a small thing but if you were attending a workshop say on "Building a Resume" would you want your current boss to know?